Gobbledygook at The Daily WTF – omfg.

Via The Daily WTF:

I’ve seen several IT-disasters in my corporate life, believe me. But what I’ve just read at The Daily WTF really made my balls shrink. This is really one of those really evil once-in-a-lifetime WTFs. I’m deeply impressed and horribly shocked.

Reminds me of that day when a friend of mine wanted to restore some files and totally screwed up the account-balance of 500,000 customers because his backups-files ended in “.old“; what he didn’t realize is that there was also a backup-set of files named “*.bak” which were 6 months old…

(Hey man, if you’re reading this: Don’t bother! That was a once-in-a-lifetime-WTF… That could’ve happened to *everyone* of us ;)

Tech Tags:

2 Responses to Gobbledygook at The Daily WTF – omfg.

  1. Markus says:

    I know that this story would make it into the internet…

    I’ll take one Uerige..

    AND: I saved the files to save_…. and recovered …_save

  2. You weren’t supposed to comment on it though… ;-)

Leave a Reply

